Kind365: The Beginning

 Day 1: My first act of kindness in 2016 was writing thank you notes for our fabulous doormen. These gentlemen do much more than just guard our home and receive our packages. They meet us every morning and every evening with big smiles and warm greetings, making us feel like part of a community. 

Greg never fails to ask me how my day was, expressing genuine concern in how I am. Vladimir teases us for our love of Amazon. Frank sends me out into the world on the right foot each morning with a hot cup of coffee. These men have made our apartment home, for which I am deeply grateful.  

Day 2: I found myself in Grand Central Station this morning en route to visit some friends in Connecticut. While waiting to buy my ticket I overheard a man asking people to help him buy his next meal. Realizing that the spare dollar I had in my wallet would mean much more to him than me, I gave him it in the hopes that it helps him buy some food.

As I sat on my train a woman and her son came down the aisle, clearly in distress. The mother explained that they were a bit short on train fare and asked the other passengers for help. 

It instantly brought me back to a time my mom and I hopped on a departing train without tickets, only to find out once we sat down that we didn’t have enough cash on us to pay for the marked up onboard fare. We were lucky enough to be surrounded by generous people who helped up make up the difference.  

 I stood up alongside a few other kind  passengers to help the mother buy their tickets. I hope one day they return the favor to an unlucky family who miscalculated how much money they had for their tickets. 

 

Leave a Reply

